Triathlon by the Sea – HARDWARE!!

Well… I didn’t really get hardware, at least I don’t think I did… I left before the awards. But I was second in my age group!  Here’s a race report…

Triathlon by the Sea
May 13, 2007
250y Swim, 10m Bike, 3.5m Run

Nutrition Report
Dunkin’ Donuts Bacon, Egg, and Cheese on a Wheat Bagel
Medium Coffee – Milk, Two Equals
Half bottle of Gatorade on the Bike

Fashion Report
Club Colors – Tri Shorts and Top.

Results
Swim – 6:14 (included run out of pool building) – 192/250
Bike – 34:56, 17.2MPH (included most of T1 and T2) – 43/250
Run – 25:57, 7:25 pace – 31/250
Overall – 1:07:09 – 37/250 – 2/18 in M4549

Assessment Against Pre-race  Goals

  • Have fun. If I get this one, the rest are gravy.

Done. Except for a couple of moments as I gasped for air in the pool, a bit of panic on (or technically off) the bike course, and the first mile on the run, I felt great. And I enjoyed myself. 1/1.

  • I’d like to be under 5:15 in the swim – barring pool traffic issues. Since reported swim time will include run out of the building – my 5:15 goal is against my watch.

I forgot to start my watch going into the pool. I tried to start after lap one but it was in the wrong mode. I gave up. That makes objective assessment difficult here. But… I don’t think I swam that well. I felt like I was flailing the whole way – never quite found the stroke despite consciously trying to slow down. Didn’t feel smooth at all. Still – didn’t hold up the person behind me so either they were slow too or I was near target pace. Half credit. 1.5/2.

  • I hear the bike course has some hills – and typically wind. It’s hard to predict the effects of those. I think I’ll be happy with 18+ – even if, as I’ve read, "decent age groupers will go maybe 23-25 in tri’s." Again, will base success on bike computer as both transitions are in bike time.

I missed the first turn on the bike. There was a kid on the corner and I’m asking “right turn?” and he just kinda stood there – so I followed the bike in front of me straight. We took the next right and rejoined the course. It probably only cost me 300 yards or so – but I was bumming. (I guess I should have been officially DQ’d too.) I passed my transition neighbor a second time right after rejoining the course – she says “Hey! There you go again!” Adrenaline got me going. Nobody passed me – I passed scores. I felt real strong on the climbs – passing standing bikers while pedaling seated. I was flying on the downs – hit one pothole that I thought for sure was gonna fold my front wheel. My bike computer recorded an average of 19.7 mph for the course. Success. 2.5/3.

  • On the run… I’ll be happy with anything near 7:30’s.

I felt like I was barely moving for mile one. Legs were predictably stiff and I still hadn’t started my watch. I was stalking a female club-mate and caught her maybe three quarters of a mile out. I started my watch at mile one and saw 7:22 for the second mile – figured I must have been moving better than I expected!! So… Pushed for home – picking up speed as I went. Again, nobody passed me – I probably passed a dozen or more. 7:25 overall. Success. 3.5/4.

Summary
I was surprised at how high my finish ranking was. Guess I did OK. It was great having my kids there to cheer and seeing my wife out on the course – I passed her on the bike and got a high five as she was going out on run loop as I was coming in.

I thought I raced reasonably well. Still have a LOT of work to do on the swim and I took my time in the transitoins – I can shave some time there too.

It was a good day!

This entry was posted in Triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment